Executive Leaders


Peter Brooks

BrooksP@freyberg.ac.nz

Principal

• Lead Principal Palmerston North East Community of Learning
• Professional leadership of teaching and learning
• CEO
• Creating a positive learning culture
• Staff appointments
• Developing innovative systems and approaches
• Developing partnerships and networks


Wendy Jochem

JochemW@freyberg.ac.nz

Associate Principal
International Director

• International Student Director
• Special Education oversight
• Migrant and refugee oversight
• RTLB cluster oversight
• Ministry referrals



Linda Smith

SmithL@freyberg.ac.nz

Deputy Principal

• School wide planning and events
• Reporting
• Year 1 and 2 Teacher development
• Student teachers
• Year 10 Academic leader
• EOTC and sport oversight
• Appraisal overview
• Staff duties
• Enrolments


Craig Steed

SteedC@freyberg.ac.nz

Deputy Principal

• Curriculum, assessment and moderation oversight and development
• Professional development oversight
• Year 11 Academic Leader
• Student leadership
• Gifted and Talented programme
• Enrolments



Bernard Harris

HarrisB@freyberg.ac.nz

Assistant Principal

• Restorative programmes
• Timetable and option surveys
• Roll returns
• Attendance
• Year 12 Academic Leader
• KAMAR oversight
• Enrolments


Peter Thompson

ThompsonP@freyberg.ac.nz

Business Manager

• Financial management and reporting
• Property and cleaning oversight
• ICT oversight
• Marketing and fundraising
• Management of support staff
• Quality systems
• Board secretary

Pastoral Leaders

Head of Kapiti House

Gerard Harrigan

HarriganG@freyberg.ac.nz
Dean of Kapiti House

Kerri Mills

MillsK@freyberg.ac.nz
Head of Tararua House

Debbie Littley

LittleyD@freyberg.ac.nz
Dean of Tararua House

Kieran Collier

CollierK@freyberg.ac.nz


Head of Ruahine House

Ange O'Connor

O'ConnorA@freyberg.ac.nz

Dean of Ruahine House

Daniel Clark

ClarkD@freyberg.ac.nz
Head of Manawatu House

David Lochhead

LochheadD@freyberg.ac.nz
Dean of Manawatu House

Debbie Purches

PurchesD@freyberg.ac.nz

Academic Leaders


Guidance Team

Curriculum Leaders


Phyllis Burns

Head of Special Education
BurnsP@freyberg.ac.nz
Mairi-Borthwick

Mairi Borthwick

Tamzin Darragh

Head of Drama, Media
DarraghT@freyberg.ac.nz
kieran

Kieran Collier

Head of Geography
CollierK@freyberg.ac.nz

Dave Edmonds

Verity Elder

Andre Jacobs

Head of Technology
JacobsA@freyberg.ac.nz

Alex Kitchen

Co-Head of Mathematics
KitchenA@freyberg.ac.nz

Karen Lee

Co-Head of Mathematics
LeeK@freyberg.ac.nz

David Lochhead

Head of Commerce
LochheadD@freyberg.ac.nz
Leanne-Melbye

Leanne Melbye

Jamie Mills

Steven-Needham

Steven Needham

Head of Japanese
NeedhamS@freyberg.ac.nz

Elizabeth Paine

Head of Languages, Classical Studies
PaineE@freyberg.ac.nz

Rachel Shepherd

Head of English
ShepherdR@freyberg.ac.nz

Catherine Smith

Head of Food and Nutrition
SmithC@freyberg.ac.nz

Dianne Stewart

Head of Health, Societal Issues
StewartD@freyberg.ac.nz
IanT

Ian Tairea

Head of Computing
TaireaI@freyberg.ac.nz
Josephine-Kenrick

Josephine Kenrick

Pene Will

Head of Social Sciences, History
WillP@freyberg.ac.nz

Key Support Staff

TraceyA

Tracey Armstrong

Rosemary Barsanti

Rosemary Barsanti

Sports Administrator
sports@freyberg.ac.nz
Tina Bell

Tina Bell

Arts Co-Ordinator
BellT@freyberg.ac.nz
Saskia-Beveridge

Saskia Beveridge

Sports Administrator
BeveridgeS@freyberg.ac.nz
Philippa Dravitski

Philippa Dravitski

Student Center Manager / Attendance Officer
DravitskiP@freyberg.ac.nz
Diane-Garth

Diane Garth

PA/Administrator
GarthD@freyberg.ac.nz
Raewyn

Raewyn

Front of School / Receptionist
HornblowR@freyberg.ac.nz
MeghanN

Meghan Nicolson

Emmaleen-Sarten

Emmaleen Sarten

Science Technician
SartenE@freyberg.ac.nz
Delwyn-Shirley

Delwyn Shirley

Gateway/Star Administrator
ShirleyD@freyberg.ac.nz
Margaret

Margaret Vanwijk

Teaching Staff

Darren Alexander

Technology

AlexanderD@freyberg.ac.nz



Marian Basnayake

Mathematics

BasnayakeM@freyberg.ac.nz



Mairi Borthwick

Science

BorthwickM@freyberg.ac.nz



Shelley Charles

English

CharlesS@freyberg.ac.nz



Bronwyn Cook

Social Sciences, History

CookB@freyberg.ac.nz



Joshua Dunstan-Brown

Mathematics

Dunstan-BrownJ@freyberg.ac.nz



Verity Elder

Art

ElderV@freyberg.ac.nz



Cherie Fenemor

Science

FenemorC@freyberg.ac.nz



Lorraine Futter

ESOL

FutterL@freyberg.ac.nz



Jason Harbott

Mathematics

HarbottJ@freyberg.ac.nz



Andre Jacobs

Technology

LochheadD@freyberg.ac.nz



Rina Kumar

Food and Nutrition

KumarR@freyberg.ac.nz



Bridgette Lynch

Mathematics

LynchB@freyberg.ac.nz



Kerry Meerkerk

English

MeerkerkK@freyberg.ac.nz



Jamie Mills

PE

MillsJ@freyberg.ac.nz



Ruth Neilson

Craig Centre

NeilsonR@freyberg.ac.nz



Elizabeth Paine

Spanish

PaineE@freyberg.ac.nz



Debbie Purches

Mathematics

PurchesD@freyberg.ac.nz



Leigh Scott

English

ScottL@freyberg.ac.nz



Dianne Stewart

Health and Societal Issues

StewartD@freyberg.ac.nz



Georgia Taylor

Social Science

TaylorG@freyberg.ac.nz



Harriet Wellwood

Science

WellwoodH@freyberg.ac.nz



Brooke Argyle

PE

ArgyleB@freyberg.ac.nz



Brooke Batley

PE

BatleyB@freyberg.ac.nz



Adrian Bulford

Science

BulfordA@freyberg.ac.nz



Daniel Clark

Social Sciences

ClarkD@freyberg.ac.nz



Pam Cresswell

HPT

CresswellP@freyberg.ac.nz



Elise Dykstra

International Administrator, ESOL

DykstraE@freyberg.ac.nz



Jacqui Ellingham

ECE, Barista

EllinghamJ@freyberg.ac.nz



Rahera Filiata

Maori

FiliataR@freyberg.ac.nz



Karyn Gordon

Science

GordonK@freyberg.ac.nz



Gerard Harrigan

Science, Physics

HarriganG@freyberg.ac.nz



Jodie Jochem

Special Education

JochemJ@freyberg.ac.nz



Karen Lee

Mathematics

LeeK@freyberg.ac.nz



Katrina Matthews

English

matthewsk@freyberg.ac.nz



Leanne Melbye

Dance

MelbyeL@freyberg.ac.nz



Kent Mori

PE

MoriK@freyberg.ac.nz



Claire New

Textiles

NewC@freyberg.ac.nz



Helen Parker

Maori

ParkerH@freyberg.ac.nz



Valerie Revill

Computing

RevillV@freyberg.ac.nz



Rachel Shepherd

English

ShepherdR@freyberg.ac.nz



Anna Sullivan

English and Drama

SullivanA@freyberg.ac.nz



Heather Velvin

Science, Chemistry

VelvinH@freyberg.ac.nz



Pene Will

History

WillP@freyberg.ac.nz



Nandana Ariyaratne

Science

AriyaratneN@freyberg.ac.nz



Rachel Bearda

PE

BeardaR@freyberg.ac.nz



Phyllis Burns

HPT

BurnsP@freyberg.ac.nz



Helen Codd

Flat

CoddH@freyberg.ac.nz



Tamzin Darragh

Drama

DarraghT@freyberg.ac.nz



Dave Edmonds

Music

EdmondsD@freyberg.ac.nz



Paul Emmerson

Technology

EmmersonP@freyberg.ac.nz



Tim Fisher

Business Studies

FisherT@freyberg.ac.nz



Helen Green

Gateway

GreenH@freyberg.ac.nz



Bernard Harris

Science

HarrisB@freyberg.ac.nz



Josephine Kenrick

Maori

KenrickJ@freyberg.ac.nz



David Lochhead

Commerce

LochheadD@freyberg.ac.nz



Janine Maxey

Tourism, Mathematics

MaxeyJ@freyberg.ac.nz



Alice Mills

Gateway

MillsA@freyberg.ac.nz



Stacie Mudd

English, Drama

MuddS@freyberg.ac.nz



Lorna Newsome

Mathematics

NewsomeL@freyberg.ac.nz



Alice Polglase

Science, Food & Nutrition

PolglaseA@freyberg.ac.nz



Geraldine Reynolds

English

ReynoldsG@freyberg.ac.nz



Natalie Sinclair

Science

BirdN@freyberg.ac.nz



Ian Tairea

Computing

TaireaI@freyberg.ac.nz



Nigel Ward

Craig Centre

WardN@freyberg.ac.nz



Eleanor Williams

NZ Sign, Deaf Education

WilliamsE@freyberg.ac.nz



Sue Barrington

English

BarringtonS@freyberg.ac.nz



Ross Bland

Science

BlandR@freyberg.ac.nz



Ricky Chan

Music

ChanR@freyberg.ac.nz



Keiran Collier

Geography

CollierK@freyberg.ac.nz



Lesley Duncan

Art

DuncanL@freyberg.ac.nz



Tracy Edmonds

Science, Biology

EdmondsT@freyberg.ac.nz



Matt Farrelly

EOTC/International

FarrellyM@freyberg.ac.nz



Candice Forster-Heke

English

Forster-HekeC@freyberg.ac.nz



Nicole Greensides

Social Science, History and Classics

GreensidesN@freyberg.ac.nz



Vivienne Hill

PE

HillV@freyberg.ac.nz



Alex Kitchen

Mathematics

KitchenA@freyberg.ac.nz



Sam Lowe

PE

LoweS@freyberg.ac.nz



Tracey McKenzie

English

McKenzieT@freyberg.ac.nz



Kerri Mills

Science, Barista

MillsK@freyberg.ac.nz



Steven Needham

Japanese

NeedhamS@freyberg.ac.nz



Angela O’Connor

English

O’ConnorA@freyberg.ac.nz



Charlene Purcell

English, Art

PurcellC@freyberg.ac.nz



Dave Scott

Mathematics, Technology

ScottD@freyberg.ac.nz



Catherine Smith

Food and Nutrition

StewartD@freyberg.ac.nz



Chanel Tamahaga

PE

TamahagaC@freyberg.ac.nz



Wendy Webster

Science

WebsterW@freyberg.ac.nz



Chloe Yuile

English

YuileC@freyberg.ac.nz



Teen Parent Unit

Jenny-Johanson

Jenny Johansen

Paula-King

Paula King

Assistant Director
KingP@freyberg.ac.nz